Best analog Vocoder

• I'm looking for an analog vocoder...no software, I want the warmer sound...any suggestions would be appreciated!...??

ps: I'm a newby at this.

• i guess you can't go wrong with this classic:

[yt]cOO6xTXTeiA[/yt]
    ...used in many oldschool electro classics like Freestyle "Its automatic" etc.
    going out at ebay for 500~700 USD i think.

there are many others of course. how much do you want to spend? :)

one thats 'a little' more expensive:

[yt]dhuB48Ln9ro[/yt]
    :D :cylon:

• My range is pretty much that...$500-$700, and I really don't want to spend anymore. By those samples you've given me, I think I like the classic Roland SVC-350 better than that other one. 8)

• Quote from scherben;17511

I know of someone selling a Korg Electribe with a vocoder on it for c. £350

I would have to look into what a Korg Electribe is first...like I said, I'm pretty new at this, but with all the momentum to learn. :D

• i dont think any of the electribes (korg groove-boxes) have a vocoder on them...i think scherben may be thinking of the microkorg. the vocoder on thats isnt so good (and its not analog either, its VA). the SVC-350 is the best analog vocoder for non-silly money imo. you'll need a synth to plug into it to act as a carrier (pretty much anything'll do the job)

• Quote from ChristianRock;17517

i dont think any of the electribes (korg groove-boxes) have a vocoder on them...i think scherben may be thinking of the microkorg. the vocoder on thats isnt so good (and its not analog either, its VA). the SVC-350 is the best analog vocoder for non-silly money imo. you'll need a synth to plug into it to act as a carrier (pretty much anything'll do the job)

I don't doubt you're correct, I was speaking from memory, which was a stupid thing to do :)

I apologise for my ignorance

• Quote from electrofunk;18250

Personally I'd like to know which vocoder was used on the new Blasteroids EP, it's one of the best electro voices i've heard so far :cylon: